Castello Sannazzaro is a still today a privately owned castle built after a decree given by the Holy German Roman Emperor Fredriech “Barbarossa” to four Sannazzaro knights in 1163 in which the Emperor was giving them the permission to build a castle wherever they wanted in their possessions. In 1303 the castle certainly existed as proved by written documents and it has always belonged to the Sannazzaro family ever since. Restored and modified in several periods, it was partly transformed in a country house in the 18th
century and further restored and redecorated according to the, at that time prevailing neo-gothic style in 1854-1857. During the centuries it has hosted Princes Paleologo in 1400, the Dukes Gonzaga in 1500 and 1600, the king Carlo Emanuele III of Sardinia and his son (future Vittorio Amedeo III) in 1745 and King Vittorio Emanuele II, first King of Italy in 1859 together with the French Emperor Napoleon III, during the war leading to the Unification of Italy. Still in 1911 Prince Emanuele Filiberto di Savoia, duke of Aosta slept here for some days.
The castle is surrounded by a 19th century garden with imposing trees, a moat, a 13th century church, a horse stable and a very well disguised “ghiacciaia” (Ice House).
Still today count and countess Sannazzaro live here and manage the estate and open some bed-rooms and part of the beautifully frescoed halls to guests for short or long stays, for visits or for those willing to arrange here a party, a holiday, a wedding or an event.
Castello Sannazzaro is an ideal location for those who are interested to discover the beauty of Monferrato, its landscape, its cuisine and wines (excellent and yet to be properly valued), the beauty of its castles and palaces and churches.